To Slay a Shadow

The brighter the light, the darker the shadow we cast. That darkness can not be avoided, only embraced as it will never stop stalking us day in and day out. When the light is extinguished, some fear that abyss consuming them in their blindness, but only if they choose to keep their eyes closed to what lays before them. Some believe that their obscured twin may even leave them in that crepuscule, but one can not incinerate what will always remain a part of us. Embracing those demons doesn’t just help us understand our own, but in doing so, enlightens us to the world’s best kept secrets. In turn, we then see ourselves in our worst enemy while barely recognizing our best friend. Perhaps then, the enemy transforms to our closest ally. We can then envelop compassion, forgiveness and project empathy to those who lack it.

My Shadow: I can feel his eyes upon my soul, reaching out to graze my skin, his icy breath upon my neck. I question his closeness but fear his distance. All those casted within my shadow will envy me from afar and die within his arms.

~~Written contemplation as Essence Talon, Shadows Of The Forgotten~~

This was just something that flooded my mind after reading OM’s blog post. Thanks for the writing prompt, so to speak. ^.^

One thought on “To Slay a Shadow

Leave a Reply

