My Soul That Never Sleeps

My Soul That Never Sleeps

You’ve haunted my dreams, a distant time ago….

Lurking beneath faint realms of my mind…

A familiar chill reminds me of your soul..

A detached despair, surging down my spine…

Speak to me, I ache to hear your voice..

My lips know your name..

Calling to you in fear..

Afraid to let you go..

Afraid to have you near..

Surrender to me…Surrender inside my head..

Your smile is contagious..

A darkness beneath the light..

One of pain  we harbor in shadow…

Still, those red eyes deceive..

Beaming within to kindle my soul..

My lips know your name..

Calling to you in fear..

Afraid to let you go..

Afraid to have you near..

Surrender to me…Surrender inside my head..

A lullaby to soothe my spirit…

A soul that never sleeps

I wish you would hold me close

Like you do in our dreams..

Our only haven for reality…

My lips know your name..

Calling to you in fear..

Afraid to let you go..

Afraid to have you near..

Surrender to me…Surrender inside my head..

We’re brave enough to stand alone..

Choices taken  to endure it all..

Like when we danced in the rain..

Or the night you almost died..

Even when  we’re so far away..

My tears echoed when I cried

Your lips know my name..

Calling  to me in fear..

Afraid to let me go..

Afraid to have me near..

Surrender to me…Surrender into my arms…

~Essence- Shadows of the Forgotten~

An original song/poem intended for my character.

One thought on “My Soul That Never Sleeps

Leave a Reply

